Oh I am so bad at blogging…

image

Ok ok…I know what your going to say…I suck at keeping up with this blog…and your right…I do. But I have so busy with like 12 ongoing projects that I just haven’t been keeping up…anyway…so update on this past week’s meals…

last friday I bought some beautiful kale and cabbage from a small local farmers market…I decided with this whole vegetable kick working out pretty well for us…why not kick it up a notch with fresh local produce and green stuff that is basically superfood like kale which happens to be some of the best green stuff you can eat….so anyway beth was apprehensive about the kale (she had never had it before) so I decided to ease her into it by combining it with familiar ingredients. Like pasta…lol the result? A delicious and really low fat dinner. I don’t really know what to call the dish so for now its just “italian sausage with kale over pasta” the recipe is as follows…

1 large bunch of kale (washed and roughly chopped into bite size pieces)
1 or 2 (depending on how much sausage you like) italian chicken sausage
1 can stewed tomatoes
1/2 can white beans (optional)
1 or 2 cloves of garlic
Oregano to taste
Salt and pepper to taste
Parmesan cheese to taste

Basically I cooked the pasta (I used bowtie) and while that was boiling, took the sausage from the casing and sauteed until almost cooked then added as much kale as I could fit in the pan lol…cooked till slightly wilted. Then added the tomatoes, beans, garlic and oregano and cooked until the garlic mellowed out…about 5 mins. Then dished up the pasta and served the sauce on top with a touch of Parmesan cheese. Super delicious.

And beth is now a kale LOVER…way to go me!

Leave a Reply

