Amazing and EASY dinner…winner!

I made the menu for this coming week today…and while making the menu I had a brilliant idea…sparked from my desire to make an asian flavored salad that was not mandarine chicken salad AGAIN…lol so I looked back at the brain archives for my favorite chinese dishes…and found LETTUCE WRAPS! woo!!! and me being me…i figured I’d grab a quick recipe just to get an idea of what to put in them…then come up with my own recipe…much to my dismay…most (in fact ALL) of the recipes were for ground beef (what gives? no ground turkey fans in china apparently) now improvasation in the kitchen is my thing…so I figured eh I’ll just make it work.

So heres what I came up with…

Asian Turkey Lettuce Wraps:

(about) 1 tbs Sesame Oil (toasted)
1/2 lb Ground Turkey
1/4 to 1/2 Yellow Onion (chopped)
2 cloves Garlic (minced or pressed)
1 large knob (or about 2 tbs) Ginger (Minced)
1 can water Chestnuts (chopped or sliced)
1 good sized Carrot (grated)
2 1/2 tbs Housin Sauce
1 tbs Worschestshire (good luck spelling that…I never can obviously) sauce
1 tbs Rice Wine Vingar (seasoned or unseasoned)
a good dash of soy sauce
Salt and pepper (to taste)
Cilantro (minced) (to taste)

1. Saute onions in sesame oil until soft, add garlic and ginger and saute for about 1 or 2 mins (don’t let the garlic burn)

2. Add ground turkey and saute until ground turkey is almost cooked. Add Housin sauce, W. Sauce, Rice Vinegar, soy Sauce and Water chestnuts

3. Saute until cooked (haha) in other words till the turkey is done and the chestnuts have soaked up some of the sauce. Add carrots and Cilantro (but do not COOK) the carrots are much better raw with that crunchiness left in them.
should look something like this…

then use Large Iceberg (in my case cuz it keeps longer and is less expensive…I know I know mom it has no nutritional value…but that crunch is just sooooo good) as wraps or cups to put the meat into (aka lettuce tacos)

finished product = delicious

I’ll admit I was dubious about eating JUST this for dinner (no sides no salad no starch) but it was delicious and after about 3 lettuce wraps each both Beth and I were stuffed. We had a little leftover but not much…and as with most asian dishes it only gets better with time spent in the fridge marinating! so Heres to a great lunch tomorrow 🙂

also on a side note…I would like to add after only working at this for about 3 weeks now…and with a few work outs thrown in between almost all my pants are falling off…and my “spare tire/muffin top” is dwindling. I haven’t weighed myself because we don’t own a scale but I think we might need to invest in one to catalog this experience…anyway…hope you try this recipe out and enjoy it as much as we did!

Leave a Reply

