Well here we are back again.

So its been a long time….I am really bad at blogging…I know.

but heres the deal…I feel inspired to restart this blog…because my lovely wife has started her own blog, and its absolutely fantastic…she is much more faithful than I am, so I’m thinking if she is writing hers it will remind me to write mine. we’ll see how well that goes.

On a side note I have a quick and delicious recipe for you created by me, totally by accident.

Accidental Soup

1-2 pieces Bacon (chopped)
1/2 Onion (diced)
1 clove garlic
1/2 cup White wine (whatever you have left over in your fridge will be fine…I used Pinot gris but thats what I almost always use for cooking)
4 Red Potatoes (diced)
1 can white beans (optional)
5 1/2 cups Chicken Stock
1 cup frozen corn
2 cups Sugar Snap Peas (Cut and “de stringed”)
1/2 cup Green Onion (sliced)
1/2 cup Parmesan Cheese (grated)

This seems like a lot of things like bacon and cheese but bear in mind this makes 8-10 portions.

1. Saute the bacon and onions in a large soup pot, I didn’t add oil because there is no need with bacon! 🙂

2. Add crushed garlic clove when the onions begin to soften. DO NOT LET THE GARLIC BURN!!! turn down the heat if you need. Let saute for about 30 seconds to mellow out the garlic

3.  deglaze the pan with the white wine, be sure to scrape all that delicious caramelization off the bottom of the pan. reduce by 1/2

4. add the potatoes and saute for about a minute allowing them to start to soak up the wine mixture. Add the white beans at this time if you want them.

5. Add chicken stock and bring to a simmer.

6. simmer until the potatoes begin to soften and add the frozen corn. bring back up to a simmer.

7. simmer until the potatoes are cooked through. take a potato masher or stiff wisk and mash a few good times. The goal is to thicken the soup slightly NOT to mash all the potatoes.

8. add the sugar snap peas, parmesan cheese, and green onions. Turn off the heat, the soup should be hot enough to cook the peas just slightly.

Serve IMMEDIATELY!

seriously this was one of the most delicious things I’ve made in a long time. I love making things out of random bits and bobs of leftover produce from previous recipes 🙂 hope you enjoy and let me know what you think 🙂

Leave a Reply

