New Plan same Concept

So heres the thing, while I believe BMI (Body Mass Index) is a crock of bull. I also have a very high BMI and know that I am in fact overweight, and I don’t really want to be that way any more. I’ve tried dieting plans before and so far to no avail but I am willing to give it another shot in addition to taking some supplements to help the natural hormones our bodies produce do their job, specifically Testosterone (which women do produce just in much lower amounts…and for some women…like me, Estrogene takes over the Testosterone and makes it into MORE ESTROGENE…lol which causes your body to retain weight even when dieting and exercising). Plus there are some other factors in my life I am considering, which factor in to this decision to want to get in shape…but I’m not ready to talk about that yet. Anyway so I found this fantastic website https://www.choosemyplate.gov/SuperTracker/default.aspx. This was created by the USDA and therefore it is FREE!!!  This website is awesome, you imput your name, age, height and weight, and set a goal for the amount you want to lose, or if you want to simply maintain your weight. Then BAM it sets you up with a portion plan, gives you lists of good foods (and portion sized equivilents) and sets you up with a basic meal plan.

BUT wait theres more! You can also log on and track your eating habits (so long as you keep up with imputing what you are eating) your weight loss, and your excersize routine. You can even set goals in weight loss, physical activities, food groups (like if you have trouble remembering to eat your vegetables) and Calories. Really this thing is awesome.

So the new plan for Beth and I is not so much different from the old one, and I will still be posting and adding recipes. Because for the most part Beth and I do eat healthy we just don’t eat often enough. We are notorious for getting distracted during the day and forgetting to eat more than once throughout the morning and afternoon, so by the time dinner rolls around we over eat. So our plan is to start by adding 2 days of excersise, and eating 3 meals and 2 snacks throughout the day. So far this is what the menu looks like

Meal Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday Sunday
Breakfast6:30 B7:30 S Yogurt, Granola, Fruit Oatmeal, Fruit, Milk Yogurt, Granola, Fruit, Oatmeal, Fruit, Milk Yogurt, Granola, Milk Pancakes, Fruit, Milk Oatmeal, Fruit, Milk
Snack10:00 B&S Banana, Toast Same Same Same Same Same Same
Lunch1:00 B&S Salad, Chicken, Croutons, Dressing, Fruit, Cheese Sandwich, veggies, Cheese, Fruit Leftover Dinner, Fruit, Cheese Sandwich, Veggies, Cheese, Fruit Salad, Chicken, Croutons, Dressing, Fruit, Cheese Leftover Dinner, Fruit, Cheese
Snack3:00 B&S Veggies, Cheese Same Same Same Same Same Same
Dinner6:00 B&S Fritatta w/ Kale, Tomato and Sausage, toasted bread Taco Salad Mustard Glazed Chicken w/ bok choy and Rice Herb Chicken, veggies, Cous Cous TBD Baked Pasta w/ Ground Turkey & Veggies Homemade Pizza

Breakfast Lunch and Snacks probably wont vary from week to week, I love yogurt and granola, and oatmeal with fruit so I am pretty content to stick with this for at least the first 2 weeks, to ease into things and get the routine down before I try to switch up all three meals. Dinner however will always remain interchangable.

So check out the website, even if your not looking to loose weight, its a great way to check out what portion sizes you should be eating and how many calories a normal day should have. Have fun and let me know if you check it out!

3 responses

  1. Hi there! Thanks for the LIKE on my post – love this by the way. I’m not overweight but I eat terribly LOL – I could pretty much wrap anything in bacon and be happy! Every 5 or 6 months I go to just raw for about a month and it makes a huge difference. The less you eat “bad stuff” the less you crave it.

    Anyhow – good luck on your new plan – keep us posted. Can’t wait to read more.
    Cheers,
    Jesse

    • Jesse,
      Thanks so much for the comment!
      I understand about the bacon, I LOOOOOOVE bacon. and truthfully I still eat it probably more than I should. As far as the plan goes, I am trying my best to stick to it. But as with most things, I am treating it as more of a guideline than anything else. I’m really trying to keep things in balance most of all, like for instance: This week I am making Pasta Carbonara, a VERY Fatty and very carb heavy meal, but I am adding extra veggies, less bacon, and less Pasta to better balance it out. Anyway Thanks so much again, and I look forward to reading more of your blog!

      • I totally agree with needing to keep these lifestyle changes reasonable if you have any hope of making them a habit. Even when I do my raw diet – I add hard boiled eggs which is wrong on like 12 different levels 🙂 Best of luck to you – I’ll have a good thought for you

Leave a Reply

