Menu Time again…already?

Hello all,

Its that time again…Weekly menu time. This week though the goal for me is to make a menu using ONLY the items left in my fridge. What!? I know its crazy but heres the reason.

This past weekend we had some friends in from out of town, we went out to lunch on Sunday and had some unexpected food purchases for dinner sunday night. So, since I’ve spent over my budgeted amount for last week, it cuts into my budget for this week. Now this wouldn’t be a huge problem if I had more than $200 a month in food stamps (yes I said food stamps) to spend on groceries. I don’t, and I can’t get any more until the 3rd of next month, so I have to make the $40 I have left, last through the 3rd. See my problem? So Todays post is going to be all about how to get creative with a limited selection of ingredients, aaaaand also how to keep your meals healthy.

Step 1…Take stock of your fridge and pantry (this is by far my LEAST favorite task of all food related chores) I usually take a piece of paper or notebook and hunker down in front of the fridge, cleaning out the bad food while writing down the amount of useable food we have left.

Now as you guys probably already know I keep my freezer very well stocked with proteins, so that I don’t have to buy chicken and turkey every week. This is particularly helpful in situations like this, because I know that I don’t have to worry about whether or not we have enough meats to make it through 6 dinners. I also keep my pantry fairly well stocked, I ALWAYS have pasta, and almost always have a selection of beans as well. So really this week the only thing I am worried about is Produce and Dairy

So I’ve taken a look at my fridge and I’m going to list its contents to you and then list the menu and I will outline how much ingredient will be used for each recipe does that make sense?

ok Fridge contents…I’m not going to lie, it was a little scary in there, I have been negelecting to clean out my fridge for some time now, it was an adventure.

In my fridge I have:

11 eggs
1 small pack grape tomatoes
1 bunch of celery
1 bag of Fava beans (about 15 pods)
3 heads of broccoli
2 halfs of yellow onion
1 half red onion (see what I mean bad about checking the fridge)
1 red pepper
1/2 lb Bacon
2 Roma Tomatoes
1/2 cucumber
3/4 lb yogurt
1/2 iceburg lettuce
1 1/2 Bag green Peas frozen
1 1/4 bag Corn frozen
4 or 5 chicken breasts
3/4 lb Ground Turkey
3/4 gallon Whole Milk
1/2 bag of shredded cheese
1 med potato

WE ARE GOLDEN! As long as I time things right to use the stuff that is going bad first, we have PLENTY to make it through the week! YES!

Menu time!

Wednesday: Pasta Salad (1-2 pieces of bacon, 1/4 cucumber, all grape tomatoes, 1-2 stalks of celery, 1 bag fava beans)

Thursday: summer corn soup (3/4 bag corn, 1 slice bacon, 1 med potato, 1/4 red pepper, 2 stalks celery, chicken stock)

Friday: Turkey Mac and Broccoli Salad (1/2 lb turkey, pasta, 1 can beans, canned tomatoes, katchup and spices Broccoli Salad 1 – 1 1/2 heads broccoli, 1 slice bacon, mayo, raisins, honey or sugar)

Saturday: Leftovers

Sunday: Homemade Pizza (pizza dough homemade, 1 cup premade tomato sauce, 1/2 bag cheese…hmm might have to buy more, toppings)

Monday: Leftovers

Tuesday: Egg Salad Sandwiches and Salad (Bread, Eggs, Mayo, Onion, Celery, Relish, Lettuce, 1 Roma tomato 1/4 cucumber and dressing).

Bam…Thats how we roll. I hope we can stick to it! 🙂 I will be posting a blog on how that summer corn soup turned out!

Whats on YOUR Menu this week? Post a comment below!  

One response

Leave a Reply

